Presidents' Prize for Collaborative Research

Definition and Eligibility

The President’s Prize recognises collaborative research endeavours within Australia. The Prize will be awarded every 3 years to a collaborative research group based upon the body of published work in a specific area of research by that group. The research should have been conducted predominantly within Australia and through Australian Institutions. The collaborative research endeavour may span a time period greater than the 3-year period preceding the award. Collaborations must be either inter-disciplinary or conducted at more than one institution. Collaborations should be inter-disciplinary in nature if undertaken at a single institution. 

Applicants must be Full or Associate members of the ARA.


$5,000 Medal and Certificate to Rheumatology Lead Investigator


Triennially (next 2024)

Application Process

Applications to be submitted to the ARA Scientific Program and Research Committee prior to the ASM

Past Recipients

2021 Australian Lupus Registry & Biobank
2018 Australian Scleroderma Interest Group
2012 Malcolm Smith