2022 Parr Prize Recipient

Congratulations to Professor Catherine Hill the recipient of the 2022 ARA Parr Prize. 

Catherine has made outstanding research contributions in terms of both quality and impact. Catherine has broad research interests with a particular focus on patient centred research and clinical practice in rheumatic diseases. She has an excellent publication track record (95 papers in 2019-2022) mostly in specialty clinical journals. Catherine has demonstrated leadership on papers (19 first or senior authorships 2019-2022) as well as multiple collaborative contributions both locally and internationally. She has had ongoing success as the Chief Investigator with obtaining competitive funding and establishing new research areas that enhance capacity for research in Australia.

Catherine will be presented with her medal and certificate at the ARA ASM in Hobart 2023.

Parr Prize

Definition and Eligibility

The award will be offered to an individual each three years for the best contribution by a Full or Associate member of the ARA to Rheumatology research for the preceding 3 years. The award will be given for a body of productive research and selection will be based on the quality of the science and its impact. Research should be conducted, at least in part, in Australia and the researcher should be based primarily at an Australian Institution. The investigator must have played a key role in the research as indicated by first / last authorship or principal / chief investigator status or other evidence to support their significant role in the research. The Parr Prize can only be awarded once to an individual.


$1000 plus Medal and framed certificate


Triennially (next 2025)

Application Process

The application should consist of a two-page summary of the research contribution and an assessment of its importance, together with a CV with evidence of appropriate published material to support the application.

All documentation must be supplied, and submissions forwarded to:

ARA Secretariat
Parr Prize Committee
Email:  ara@rheumatology.org.au 


Past Recipients

2022 Prof Catherine Hill
2019 A/Prof Mandana Nikpour
2013 Prof Lyn March
2010 Prof Flavia Cicuttini, Prof Graeme Jones and Prof Matthew Brown
2007 Prof Malcolm Smith and Prof Ian Wicks
2004 Prof Rachelle Buchbinder
2001 Prof Eric Morand
1998 A/Prof Ranjeny Thomas
1995 Joint recipients: Dr Gordon and Dr McCluskey
1992 Joint recipients: Prof Ric Day and Prof Les Cleland
1988 Prof Phillip Sambrook
1980 Prof John Edmonds, Dr Bashir, Dr Geczy
1974 Prof Ken Muirden
1971 Prof Ron Penny
1969 Prof Ken Muirden
1966 Prof Bryan Emmerson
1963 Dr Howard Duncan
1961 Dr S G Anderson

History of the Parr Prize

A history of the Parr Prize was published in the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Medicine, in its final volume in 2000. (The journal was subsequently renamed the Internal Medicine Journal )

Read/download the article here.